Circular Fashion

Art on Broken Pieces

Our industry has a lot of flaws. But we believe that all problem lead to chances. We make use of the chances we get. By channeling a lot of creativity and positive energy, we turn styles with small flaws into something surprisingly beautiful. Our Art on Broken Pieces project gives new life to jeans that would otherwise be discarded during the production process. 

In our factory we work diligently and use high quality materials. Still, our quality controls finds jeans with tiny production flaws. But we do not  discard them. Instead, they become part of our Art on Broken Pieces initiative. We transform them into into very unique treasures with embroidery and batches created by Swedish designer Sofia Holt.

This summer we invited upcycling artists to create pieces of art that complement our own collection. And Anja Leshoff, designer of remember, turned some of our broken pieces into beautiful one-of-a-kind bags.

"Usually brands get rid of imperfect items. However, Dawn Denim uses embroidery and crafts to make them look perfect and unique again!" – Stephanie van den Sigtenhorst @letstalkslow

"Dawn Denim is not only producing fairly and sustainable, they also don’t throw away the pieces that don’t pass the quality control, instead they hand them over to an artist." – Nanda Schwarz @nanda_schwarz

"Appreciation and the lifecycle extension of clothing are important to me. That's why I've always been a big fan of the "Art on Broken Pieces" project by @dawndenim." Selmin Ermis-Krohs @tweedandgreet

The Artists' Work

We invited upcycling artists to turn our Broken Pieces into their own artworks and to give them a new life. This project shows what is possible when using all of our creative energy.

The finished artworks will be auctioned, half of the price will support the artists and the other half will go to our non-profit 11 for 1 campaign. 

Remember by Anja Leshoff

Turning discarded clothes into something new – that is what Anja Leshoff's project remember focuses on. She creates a patchwork look, which isn't just a nice eye-catcher, but also a friendly reminder. Each of the different fabric stripes reminds you of an original piece it was taken from. It kindly hints at the value of our clothes.

Circular Fashion

Art on Broken Pieces

Unsere Branche hat viele Makel. Aber wir glauben daran, dass in jedem Problem auch Chancen stecken. Die wollen wir nutzen. Mit viel positiver Energie und Kreativität verwandeln wir fehlerhafte Jeans in etwas Besseres, Schönes und Einzigartiges. Wir nennen das Art on Broken Pieces. Mit diesem Projekt geben wir Jeans, die normalerweise im Produktionsprozess aussortiert würden, ein neues Leben.


In unserer Fabrik arbeiten wir mit der gebührenden Ruhe und verwenden ausschließlich hochwertige Materialien. Dennoch findet unsere Qualitätskontrolle hin und wieder Jeans mit kleinen Fehlern. Doch wir schmeißen Styles mit diesen kleinen Mängeln nicht weg. Sie werden Teil unseres Art on Broken Pieces Projekts. Die schwedische Designerin Sofia Holt hat dafür Stickereien und Badges entwickelt.

Neben unserer hauseigenen Art on Broken Pieces Kollektion haben wir diesen Sommer Upcycling Artists dazu eingeladen, aus unseren Broken Pieces Kunstwerke entstehen lassen. Zudem hat Anja Leshoff, Designerin von remember, wunderschöne Taschen kreiert. 

"Normalerweise werden Teile, die nicht perfekt sind, weggeworfen, aber Dawn Denim nutzt dies als Chance. …ein tolles Konzept!" – Stephanie van den Sigtenhorst @letstlakslow

"Dawn Denim produziert nicht nur fair und nachhaltig, sondern wirft auch keine Jeans weg, die die Qualitätskontrolle nicht bestehen. Stattdessen gehen  diese Teile an Künstler:innen." – Nanda Schwarz @nanda_schwarz

"Wertschätzung und Verlängerung des Lebenszyklus von Kleidung sind mir einfach wichtig. Daher war ich bisher auch schon immer ein großer Fan des "Art on Broken Pieces" Projektes von @dawndenim." – Selmin Ermis-Krohs @tweedandgreet

The Artists' Work

Wir haben Upcycling Artists eingeladen, aus unseren imperfekten Broken Pieces neue, tolle Kunstwerke zu erschaffen und sie so wieder zum Leben zu erwecken. Dieses Projekt zeigt, wie viel durch Kreativität möglich werden kann.
Die fertigen Kunstwerke werden in einer Online-Auktion versteigert: Dabei gehen 50% des Verkaufspreises an die Artists und 50% an unsere non-profit 11 for 1 Kampagne. 

Remember by Anja Leshoff

Aus aussortierten Kleidungsstücken Neues schaffen – das ist der Kern des remember Projekts von Anja Leshoff. So entsteht ein Patchwork-Look, der nicht nur ein absoluter Hingucker ist, sondern bei dem auch jeder unterschiedliche Streifen an das ursprüngliche Kleidungsstück erinnert, aus dem der neue Look entstanden ist. Remember steht also dafür, sich an den Wert seiner Kleidung zu erinnern und alten Kleidungsstücken neues Leben zu schenken.